----------------------------------------------------------------- JAPANESE POKEMON CARD GAME RULINGS Translated by Edo (hrzic@hawaii.edu) Version 1.5, Last Updated: April 4, 2001 http://www.geocities.com/TimesSquare/Alley/2247/Poke.htm ----------------------------------------------------------------- ----------| What Is It? This is a collection of rulings for the Pokemon Card Game in Japan. With the advent of Neo, some new rules have been added, thus causing some confusion. Various sources have been used (cited in this document). This file is divided into: Rulings List Clarifications Errata Expanded Attack and Damage Step Charts ----------| What To Do With It? You are free to print out this document for your OWN, PERSONAL use. You cannot do anything else with it. I'm sorry, you cannot use this file, nor link to it, from your site. I like hits on my site as well. A word of caution: these are JAPANESE rulings. Many of the cards involved have not yet been released in the United States. Thus, Wizards of the Coast would probably have no idea what you are talking about if you ask them about these rules. In addition, some of these rules go against some of the rulings that Wizards of the Coast has made outside of Japan. ----------| Document History v1.5: Second Release (01/03/19) - Added rulings from Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 9 - Added rulings from Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 10 v1.0: First Release (00/09/??) - Initial release of this file ----------| RULINGS LIST Q: I use Electrode's (Base Set) [Buzzap] Pokemon Power, and it becomes an Energy card that provides 2 Energy. Does my opponent get to draw a Prize? A: Yes, your opponent does. When [Buzzap] is used, Electrode becomes Knocked Out. Therefore, your opponent gets to draw 1 Prize. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 4. Q: I have a Blastoise (Base Set) as my Active Pokemon, and used an Electrode's [Buzzap], and attache it to the Blastoise. Can my opponent discard the Electrode by an Energy Removal? A: Yes, your opponent can. When [Buzzap] is used, Electrode becomes an Energy card. Thus, Energy Removal can be used on it. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 4. Q: I have a Venomoth (Jungle) on my Bench, and use [Shift] so that it becomes a Psychic type. Can my Sabrina's Alakazam use Venomoth's [Venom Power] through [Psylink]? A: Yes, you can. [Shift] is a Pokemon Power that allows you to change the type to any of your other Pokemon. Therefore, if Venomoth changes to a Psychic type, Sabrina's Alakazam can use Venomoth's [Venom Powder]. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 4. Q: I used the [Intimidate] attack of my Giovanni's Nidoking (Gym 2) on my opponent's Charmader (Base Set). During my opponent's next turn, he evolves the Charmander into a Dark Charmeleon (Team Rocket). Can the Dark Charmeleon attack? A: Yes, it can attack. [Intimidate]'s effect is the effect of an attack. When a Pokemon evolves, all effects of attacks on it are removed. Thus, evolving from Charmander to Dark Charmeleon will allow it to attack. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 4. Q: The [Power Tower] Stadium card (Green Vending Machine Sheet) is in play, and I play [Sabrina's Psychic Control] (Gym 2). Can I use a card in my opponent's discard pile? A: Yes, you can. [Pokemon Tower] prevents each player from returning Trainer Cards from their discard piles to their hands. For example, if you play [Item Finder], you can't return any Trainer cards to your hand. However, [Sabrina's Psychic Control] allows you to play a Trainer card in your opponent's discard pile as if it was in your hand. It doesn't actually put the card into your hand. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 4. Q: If I play [Invisible Wall] (Gym 2) and on the same turn use Magnemite's (Base Set) [Selfdestruct] or Articuno's (Fossil) [Blizzard], is the damage done to my Benched Pokemon? A: No, they do not take damage. The effect of [Invisible Wall] prevents damage from being done to your Benched Pokemon until the end of your opponent's next turn by an attack. Magnemite's [Selfdestruct] is an attack that does damage to Pokemon on your Bench, so that damage is prevented. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 4. Q: Can [Rainbow Energy] be used as Evil Energy or Steel Energy? A: It can. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: If I use Electrode's (Base Set) [Buzzap] Pokemon Power, can I choose for it to provide 2 Evil Energy or Steel Energy? A: Yes, you can. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: If my Ditto (Fossil) becomes an Evil Pokemon through [Transformation], can the Energy attached to it be used as Evil Energy? A: It can. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. CLARIFICATION OF THE EFFECTS OF EVIL ENERGY AND STEEL ENERGY: In all of these ways, you can supply Evil Energy or Steel Energy. However, you won't get the effects of the Evil Energy or Steel Energy cards. Energy and Energy cards are two different things. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: I have two Evil Energy cards attached to one of my Pokemon. Does it take damage for each Evil Energy card attached to it at the end of each turn? A: Yes. If the Pokemon that the Evil Energy card is attached to is not an Evil Pokemon or Dark Pokemon, it does 10 damage to that Pokemon at the end of each turn for each Evil Energy card attached to it. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: I have a Sabrina's Kadabra (Gym 2) with an Evil Energy attached. If I use [Lifedown], is the Defending Pokemon [Knocked Out]? A: No, it is not Knocked Out. [Lifedown] doesn't do any damage; it simply puts damage counters on the Defending Pokemon. The Evil Energy card only adds 10 damage if the attack does any damage. Since [Lifedown] does no damage, the Evil Energy card does not apply. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: I have a Yamikarasu (Promo) with an Evil Energy attached, and I use [Chase]. If the Defending Pokemon retreats during my opponent's next turn, does the Evil Energy card add 10 damage to the damage in the effect of [Chase]? A: Yes, it does. It is damage done by an attack, so the damage is increased. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: I have an Evil Energy card and a Steel Energy card attached to 1 of my Pokemon. At the end of each turn, does the Steel Energy card prevent the damage done by the Evil Energy card? A: No, it does not prevent it. Steel Energy only prevents damage done by attacks, not through the damage done by Energy cards, such as the [Evil Energy card] and [Rainbow Energy]. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: I have 1 Steel Energy card attach to a Chansey (Base Set), and I use [Double Edge]. How much damage is done to the Defending Pokemon, and how much damage is done to Chansey? A: By the effect of the Steel Energy card, the damage of the attack is reduced by 10. Therefore, 70 damage is done to the Defending Pokemon. Also, the damage done to Chansey is reduced by 10, for 70. However, since the damage is also being done to Chansey, the damage is reduced by a further 10, for a total of 60 damage being done to Chansey. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. EDO'S QUICK NOTE: For a quick thought, the damage done to the Defending Pokemon is reduced by 10 per Steel Energy card for the Double Edge, and the damage done to Chansey is reduced by 20 for each Steel Energy card. Q: If I use [Poke Ball], can I search my deck for a Baby Pokemon? A: Yes, you can. For the purposes of searching, cards that say you can search your deck for a Basic Pokemon can allow you to search your deck for a Baby Pokemon instead. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: I evolve an Elekid (Neo 1) into an Electabuzz (Base Set), and use [Thunderpunch]. Does Erica's Dratini's (Gym 1) [Mysterious Barrier] Pokemon Power reduce the damage to 10? A: No, the damage is not reduced. If a Baby Pokemon is evolved into a Basic Pokemon, that Pokemon is considered to be an Evolved Pokemon. However, Mew's (Promo) [Neutral Barrier], would prevent the damage. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: If I use Bubii's (Neo 1) [Mokumoku] attack, does it affect the Baby Pokemon Rule? A: No. The Baby Pokemon Rule is now a Pokemon Power, thus it is not affected. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. EDO'S QUICK NOTE: Similarly, Goop Gas Attack and Muk (Fossil) will have no effect in the Baby Pokemon Rule. Q: Can I use Elekid's (Neo 1) [Naughty Punch] Pokemon Power when it is on the Bench? A: Yes. You can use it if it's your Active Pokemon, or when it is on your Bench. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: Do you apply Weakness and Resistance for Elekid's (Neo 1) [Naughty Punch] Pokemon Power? A: Yes, you do. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: If I have no cards in my hand, can I use Pii's (Neo 1) [Pipipi] attack? A: Yes. Even if you have no cards in your hand, you can draw 7 cards through the [Pipipi] attack. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. Q: I have an Eevee (Ruins) on my Bench and use its [Energy Evolution] Pokemon Power. Even though this is the same turn that it was played, can I evolve it? A: Yes, you can. Normally, you couldn't evolve it until the next. However, with a Pokemon Power or attack, you could evolve it. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 9. Q: I use Dooburu's Sketch attack to copy the [Flamethrower] attack of a Arcanine (Base Set). I do not have a Fire Energy card attached to Dooburu, so I can't discard one. Does Dooburu do any damage? A: No, it does no damage. The Flamethrower attack requires you to discard a Fire Energy card attached to this Pokemon. If you can't, this attack does no damage. Therefore, if you cannot discard a Fire Energy card, you won't do any damage to the opponent. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 9. Q: I use Derubiru's [Goudatsu] attack. There is an [Effect Card] attached to the Defending Pokemon. Is the [Effect Card] discarded by [Goudatsu's] effect? A: No, it is not discarded. [Effect Card] says "Additional effects of your opponent's attacks, other than damage, are prevented". Thus, it is not discarded. The reason is that the "Discard all Trainer cards" part of [Goudatsu's] attack is an effect of your opponent's attack, other than damage. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 9. Q: I use Derubiru's [Goudatsu] attack against a Clefairy Doll. If the Clefairy Doll discarded by [Goudatsu's] effect? A: No, it is not discarded. While in play, the Clefairy Doll is a Basic Pokemon, and not a Trainer card. However, [Goudatsu] will still do its damage. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 9. Q: My Active Pokemon is Entei (Premium File 2). My opponent's Arigeitsu (Neo 1) uses its [Hold Back] attack. At this time, can I activate Entei's Pokemon Power, and am I able to flip a coin to return Entei to my deck? A: Yes, you can activate the Power to have Entei return to your deck. Arigeitsu's [Hold Back] attack states "On your opponent's next turn", thus, the effect takes place on your opponent's next turn. Since it is not the next turn yet, the Pokemon Power can be used. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 9. Q: I use a Recall on my Butterfree (Ruins), and use the previous evolution Metapod's [Metamorphosis] attack. What happens? A: [Recall] states that an attack from a previous level of evolution can be used for this turn. Metapod's [Metamorphosis] attack states that you remove all damage counters from Butterfree, and search your deck for a Butterfree and evolve this Pokemon. Since your Pokemon is already a Butterfree, you can't evolve it. You remove all of the damage counters, but after you do, nothing else happens. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 9. Q: I copy my opponent's Kabutop's (Ruins) [Hydro-Cutter] attack with my Clefable's [Metronome] attack. There is only one Energy card attached to Clefable. How many coins do I flip? A: One. [Hydro-Cutter] states that you flip as many coins as Energy attached to the Pokemon and do 40 damage times the number of heads. Since Clefable has only one Energy, only one coin is flipped. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 9. Q: I use Poliwhirl's [Haradaiko] atack, and put three damage counters on in. Does the [Defender] Trainer card or [Steel] Energy card prevent this effect? A: [Haradaiko] states that you put three damage counters on this Pokemon. Since the attack doesn't do damage, and instead places damage counters, Defender and Steel Energy have no effect. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 9. Q: My opponent has an Aerodactyl (Fossil) on his Bench, with its [Primitive Power] Pokemon Power. Can I use Omanyte's (Ruins) [Fossil Revival] Pokemon Power, and place an Evolution card on my Bench? A: Yes, you can. [Primitive Power] prevents Evolution cards from being played on Basic Pokemon. Therefore, since you are not Evolving, you can use the effect. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 9. Q: I attach a Rainbow Energy to a Raikou (Legend). Can I activate its [(Ina) Light] Pokemon Power? A: Yes, you can activate it. While attached to a Pokemon, it counts as all types except for colorless. Therefore, when attaching it to Raikou, it is just like attaching a [Lightning Energy] to it, and you can activate the [(Ina) Light] Pokemon Power. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 10. Q: I have a Porygon 2 (Legend) on my Bench, and uses its [Energy Converter] Pokemon Power to change a Grass Energy attached to my Active Charmander into a Fire Energy. Can I discard that Grass Energy card as a Fire Energy card for Charmander's Ember attack? A: Yes, you can. [Energy Converter] allows you to choose a type other than colorless and change a Basic Energy card to produce that type. Therefore, you can discard the Grass Energy card as a Fire Energy card as part of Charmander's Ember attack. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 10. Q: I have a [Balloon Nut] attached to my Confused Active Pokemon. If I choose to Retreat, and flips tails, do I have to discard the Balloon Nut? A: Yes, you have to discard it. After you announce that you are Retreating, you discard the Balloon Nut. NOTE: It gives a small chart here: ((Retreating a Confused Pokemon)) 1. State that you are Retreating. 2. Discard the required Energy. (The Balloon Nut Trainer card is discarded at this time.) 3. Flip the coin to retreat. 4. (Standard Heads/Tails explanation for retreating.) SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 10. Q: Parasect's [Allergy Emission] is active, I choose to Knock Out my Electrode (Base Set) for its [Buzzap] Pokemon Power. At this time, I can choose to turn it into an Energy card, right? A: No, you cannot. When a Pokemon is Knocked Out, it becomes a card in the discard pile. Parasect's [Allergy Pollen] Pokemon Power effect prevents the remainder of the [Buzzap] Pokemon Power from turning Electrode into an Energy card. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 10. Q: I have an Entei (Premium File 3) on my Bench and attach a Trainer card to it, then make it my Active Pokemon, and it's Pokemon Power [Legendary Body] is Activated. The Trainer card isn't discarded as long as I attached it while it was on the Bench, right? A: No, it is discarded because of Entei's Legendary Body. Pokemon Power. Even if the Trainer card was attached while Entei was on the Bench, when Entei becomes your Active Pokemon, its Pokemon Power is activated, and the Trainer card is discarded. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 10. Q: I have a Dark/Evil Energy card attached to a Ho-Oh (Premium File 3). When I use its [Rainbow Burn] attack, does the Dark/Evil Energy card count for increasing the damage by the attack? A: No, it doesn't. Dark/Evil Energy isn't a Basic Energy card, so it doesn't count for the attack. However, Dark/Evil Energy would increase the damage by +10 for its inherent card effect. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 10. ----------| CLARIFICATIONS [Magumarashi's (Neo 1) "Scorch Marker"] (1) Cannot be removed through the [Full Heal] Trainer card. (2) Is removed when the Pokemon is Evolved or Devolved. (3) Flip a coin for EACH Pokemon that has a Scorch Marker on it at the end of each turn. (4) Damage from a Scorch Marker is not damage from an Attack. (Thus, Pokemon Powers, Attacks and Trainer cards have no effect on the damage. Of course, Weakness and Resistance are not applied.) ----------| ERRATA [Brock's Ninetales]: Changed so that the Pokemon Powers of the Evolution cards attached to it through [Disguise] cannot be used. [Magumarashi's Scorch]: Changed so that if you flip [Tails] for a Scorch Marker at the end of each turn, instead of 20 damage, put 2 damage counters on that Pokemon. ----------| EXPANDED ATTACK AND DAMAGE STEP CHARTS EXPANDED ATTACK STEP CHART (1) Attack Requirements If an effect prevents you from attacking, you can't attack. If you don't have enough Energy attached to your Active Pokemon, you can't attack. (2) Baby Pokemon Rule Check If your opponent's Active Pokemon attacks a Baby Pokemon, the attacking player flips a coin for this check. If [Heads], go to Step (3) If [Tails], the attack does nothing, and your turn is over. (3) Attack Use Effect Check If an effect of an attack may prevent the attack, such as [Sand attack], flip the coin for that now. If [Heads], go to Step (4) If [Tails], the attack does nothing, and your turn is over. (4) Attack Pokemon Confusion Check. If the attacking Pokemon is [Confused], flip a coin for that now. If [Heads], go to Step (6) If [Tails], the attack does nothing, and the Attacking Pokemon does 20 damage to itself. (5) Do Attack Explanations If there are no other effects in the attack explanation, do the damage to the Defending Pokemon. If there are other effects in the attack explanation, do those effects. EXPANDED DAMAGE CALCULATION STEP CHART (1) Basic Damage Do the effects of the attack than state damage. (EX: [Fury Attack]: Flip 2 coins. This attack does 10 damage times the number of heads.) (2) Do effects on the attacking Pokemon that affect damage (EX: [Swords Dance]: During your next turn, this Pokemon's [Slash] attack does 60 damage.) If the damage at this point is 0 or less, the attack is finished, and no damage is done to the Defending Pokemon. (3) Apply Weakness (4) Apply Resistance (5) Apply the Effects of Trainer cards attached to the attacking Pokemon. NOTE: Energy cards are included in this step. (6) Apply the Effects of cards in play (EX: [Bellsprout Temple]: Whenever damage is done to a Pokemon by a Colorless Pokemon, than damage is reduced by 30.) (7) Apply the Effects of Trainer cards attached to the Defending Pokemon. NOTE: Energy cards are included in this step. (8) Apply any other Effects that prevents or affect damage. If the damage at this point is 0 or less, the attack is finished, and no damage is done to the Defending Pokemon. (-) Do the damage to the Defending Pokemon. SOURCE: Pokemon Card Trainers Magazine, Volume 5. ----------------------------------------------------------------- Fin.